CONTACT PATCH
Ground Truth No. 01 · Draft
Ground Truth No. 01 · LiveWire Group · September 2026

LiveWire:5 Years In
and 1%
of Plan

A tale of two contracts and a loan

THE ONE THAT HAD TO DELIVER IT THE ONE THAT MADE THE PROMISE WHAT HARLEY SAID · 13 DEC 2021 · FOR 2026 100,000 MOTORCYCLES $1.8B REVENUE · PROFITABLE WHAT LIVEWIRE DID · 12 MONTHS TO JUN 2026 923 MOTORCYCLES · 0.9% OF PLAN $31M REVENUE · $70–80M LOSS ← TO SCALE 202120222023202420252026 FIVE YEARS · ONE PERCENT OF PLAN
  • What they saidDecember 2021, on the call that sold LiveWire to the public: 100,000 motorcycles, $1.8 billion in revenue, profitable by 2026.
  • What it isTwelve months to June 2026: 923 motorcycles, $31 million, a $70–80 million loss. One percent of plan.
  • What decided itTwo manufacturing agreements, a services contract Harley can cancel on ninety days’ notice, and a loan rewritten eight months before the quarter. Harley holds the pen.

The people did the work. The paperwork decided the ending.

Sources: LVWR Form 10-Q (Q2 2026) · LVWR Form 10-K (FY2023, FY2024, FY2025) · HOG Form 10-K (FY2025)
LW EV Holdings Form 425 (14 Dec 2021, merger investor call transcript) · H-D “Back to the Bricks” (5 May 2026)
Amended & Restated Master Services Agreement (Ex. 10.1, 26 Dec 2024) · Amended & Restated KYMCO Contract Manufacturing Agreement (Ex. 10.2, 22 May 2026) · Dust Asset Purchase Agreement (Ex. 10.1, 22 May 2026)
LiveWire ONE
LiveWire ONE2021 · $21,999 → $13,999
LiveWire S2 Del Mar
S2 Del Mar2023 · $15,499 → $11,999
LiveWire S4 Honcho
S4 Honcho2026 · $4,999 · KYMCO
Dust Model_1
Dust Model_12026 · $10,950 · acquired
The lineup, 2021 → 2026. Every step down the ladder is in §04.
The route · six parts, one thesis
  1. Part I
    The growth
    386% is 55 bikes to 267. The plan was 100,000. The miss is the story.
  2. Part II
    The lineup
    $29,799 to $4,999. Premium to price. The overhead never followed.
  3. Part III
    The contracts
    Buying bikes loses money. Not buying them costs money. Both in writing.
  4. Part IV
    The loan
    Nov 2025: equity backstop out, secured claim in. $85M due Dec 2027.
  5. Part V
    The tape
    Insiders sold on every spike, bought on none. 36 of 38 timed right.
  6. Part VI
    The final word
    Every spending number hit, no volume number hit. Harley changed seats.
00 · Start here

The finding, and the trail that led to it

Five years in, one percent of plan. Here is how a percentage led me to the contracts.

Start with what they said. 13 December 2021, the investor call announcing the merger, filed with the SEC as a Form 425. Harley-Davidson’s CFO, on the record, for 2026: “approximately 100,000 units,” revenue “from $35 million today to almost $1.8 billion,” and “profitable on both an EBITDA and cash flow basis.” That plan carried a $2.31 billion valuation.

It is 2026. Trailing twelve months: 923 motorcycles. $31.3 million of revenue. A parent guiding a $70–80 million loss. Units at 0.9% of plan, revenue at 1.7%, and the top line below where it stood the day the plan was announced. Call it one percent. I have watched a lot of product plans miss. I have never watched one miss by the whole plan.

That is the finding. The rest of this is about why, and whether the structure under the company lets anyone fix it. The trail started somewhere much smaller.

I saw a number online: LiveWire, 386% unit growth in Q2. Accurate. Also 55 motorcycles to 267, and fifty-five motorcycles is not a base, it is a parking lot. Normally that is worth a shrug. What turned it into two weeks of reading was where it led:

  • Open the 10-Q for the denominator and you find a write-down eating 87% of the gross loss.
  • Ask why anyone writes down brand-new inventory and you land in a manufacturing agreement priced cost-plus.
  • Read that agreement and there is a second one, with KYMCO, signed the same day.
  • Read the services contract next to them and Harley can terminate on ninety days’ notice, no reason required.
  • At the bottom of the pile: a loan with its conversion feature removed and a lien over basically everything put in its place. $76.8M, due December 2027.

None of that is in the earnings release. None of it has been reported. It lives in the exhibits, the attachments nobody opens, including most of the people paid to cover the stock.

The trail, in five documents

The order I read them in. Each one sent me to the next.

  1. 386%. 55 motorcycles to 267. I went looking for the retail number the company itself calls its share measure and found it grew 171%, not 386%. Same table, different line.
  2. The write-down. About 87% of the quarter’s gross loss was a net realisable value adjustment on brand-new S2s. You don’t write down new inventory unless it is carried above what it will fetch. The filing doesn’t say why. So: who set the price?
  3. Cost-plus. Harley builds, LiveWire buys into its own inventory at Harley’s cost plus a mark-up. Miss the volume and there is a provision for the parts Harley already bought: $6.1M of it, once, in 2023. And there is a second agreement, signed the same day, with KYMCO.
  4. Ninety days. Everyone quotes the “forty percent” clause. The paragraph under it lets either party terminate for convenience on ninety days’ notice. No trigger required.
  5. The seat change. Conversion feature gone. Security interest over substantially all assets in. First $10.0M of any ATM proceeds goes to Harley. $76.8M due 15 December 2027, compounding to about $85M. This was signed before the quarter above was even reported.

The paperwork, on one screen

Four instruments. Read the cards and you can skip the rest; every section below is the arithmetic they imply.

  • Why LiveWire. It is the only pure-play electric motorcycle company in the U.S. that has to file with the SEC. Everyone else hands you the numbers they feel like handing you. Here the press release can be checked against the arithmetic.
  • Who this is for. Suppliers deciding whether to tool up. Investors sizing a position. Dealers weighing a franchise. Riders wondering if the warranty outlives the company.
  • What I did. Read all 260 filings for both companies, the agreements and the exhibits nobody quotes. Every figure links to its source. Corrections are published, not made quietly.
  • Who I am. Ex-Harley product manager (Touring, CVO, Trike), ex-Honda planning lead on the Grom, now an independent expert witness. No position in anything named here. Full bio and method in §14.
Contract manufacturing · Harley-Davidson
Cost-plus, buy-in
H-D builds the S2 at York. LiveWire buys every unit into its own inventory at H-D’s cost plus a mark-up, then writes it down to what it will sell for. Per-product minimum volumes start calendar 2027. Miss them and you pay for parts anyway.
26 Sep 2022 · amended 14 Feb 2024
Contract manufacturing · KYMCO
Take-or-pay, redacted
KYMCO builds the Honcho. Minimum Annual Volume Commitment per product, enforced by an Order Deficit Impact Fee. Five-year exclusivity on a maxi-scooter nobody has announced. Products, volumes and prices: Exhibit A, all [***].
26 Sep 2022 · restated 19 May 2026
Master services · Harley-Davidson
Ninety days, no reason
Either party can terminate for convenience on ninety days’ notice. The famous “forty percent” clause is the slower route, 180 days, and it turns on a word the contract never defines: “production.” Seven-year term to end-2031, on paper.
23 Dec 2024 · effective 1 Jan 2025
Term loan · Harley-Davidson
Secured, no exit
$75M drawn Dec 2025. Conversion feature removed. Lien over substantially all assets. SOFR + 4%, compounding, nothing payable until 15 Dec 2027, about $85M by then. First $10.0M the ATM raises goes to the lender. Covenants block asset sales and new debt.
Feb 2024 · restated Nov 2025 · drawn Dec 2025
Part I Part II Part III Part IV Part V Part VI
LIVEWIRE GROUP · NYSE: LVWR
Part I

The growth

A number I saw online, and what it turned out to be measuring.

The point386% is fifty-five motorcycles becoming 267. Five years in, the company sits at one percent of the plan it was sold on, and revenue is below where it started.
Why it mattersEverything after this is the explanation of that one percent: the lineup that couldn’t carry it, the contracts that made volume a losing trade, and the loan that decided who fixes it.
2019 · the bike the plan was sold on
01 · The number
LIVEWIRE GROUP · NYSE: LVWR

386% more motorcycles, and the loss did not move

Both numbers come from the same table, same segment, same two periods. No outside denominator, nothing to argue about. It is the cleanest comparison in the filing, which is probably why nobody used it.

Unit sales, Q2 2025 → Q2 2026
+385.5%

55 units to 267. Average selling price flat: $11,400 to $11,483.

Operating loss, same two quarters
−0.2%

$(18,003)K to $(18,040)K. Five times the motorcycles. The loss got a hair worse.

Three qualifications, stated before anyone else states them

The base is the trough. Q2 2025’s 55 units is what makes 386% look impressive and the flat loss look damning. Anyone using that quarter as a base, in either direction, picked a flattering comparison. Me included.

LiveWire has a fair explanation and it is in the same filing. Opex fell $967K. Personnel came down $1.7M on lower headcount, and that saving went into Honcho development, the Dust deal and the ATM programme. Reinvesting a cost-out into the next product is what a functioning company does. I have signed off on that trade myself.

The annual trend runs the other way, and it is real.

Units, not percentages · one glyph = 50 motorcycles
2023
660
2024
612
2025
653
TTM to Jun 2026
923
2021 plan for 2026
100,000
… 2,000 of these. The row would run twenty screens wide.
The quarter behind the 386% · one glyph = 5 motorcycles
Q2 2025
55
Q2 2026
267
+212

motorcycles. That is the entire 386%. Same 212 bikes on the company’s own annual run-rate is +23%. On the plan it was sold on, 0.2%.

A percentage is arithmetic on a base. Pick a 55-unit base and any normal quarter looks like a launch. This is not a volume story. It is a convenient denominator.

FIG 01Consolidated operating loss by year$ millions · lower is better
$120M $90M $60M $30M $0 68.2 85.0 116.0 110.4 75.5 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
DocumentedOperating losses are down 35% from the 2023 peak; H1 2026 improved another 8.3% on H1 2025. Genuine. Against $52.9M of cash, a parent that has capped further investment, and $76.8M due December 2027, also insufficient.

The other number: 76% market share

The same post carried a second number: 76% U.S. market share. Of what? Three annual reports later, nobody has written it down.

DocumentedKnown
LiveWire stated “76% U.S. market share to date” for Q2 2026. The FY2023, FY2024 and FY2025 annual reports contain no share definition. “Kilowatt” and “horsepower” do not appear in the FY2025 10-K. Neither does the Motorcycle Industry Council.
DocumentedNot disclosed
The denominator. The geography. Registrations or sales. The segment: power threshold, on-road or off, price band. The period and the method.
ThereforeFinding
The figure cannot be reproduced from anything the company has filed. That is the finding and it is enough. Not that the number is wrong; that it cannot be checked. A share figure that cannot be checked is a marketing figure.
Industry contextHypothesis
Likeliest source: MIC registration data, the paid dataset U.S. two-wheel share is measured from. That is my inference from years in planning offices, not a disclosure. If it is the source, the definition matters more than the data. Set a threshold at 50 kW and the Can-Am Pulse and Origin, at 47 hp, fall out of the set while LiveWire’s 63 kW and 75 kW bikes stay in. The threshold decides who gets counted. None of this is a claim about what LiveWire did; with no definition published, no claim can be made either way.

The company’s own filing names the number that measures share, and it isn’t the one in the post. Q2 2026 10-Q:

LiveWire Group, Form 10-Q, page 31

“Retail Motorcycle Unit Sales made through both the Company-owned dealership and Independent Retail Partners are a key measure of consumer demand and market share for LiveWire's electric motorcycles.”

Retail is the share measure, by LiveWire’s own definition. The 10-Q’s table:

Q2, motorcycle units20262025Change
Wholesale motorcycle unit sales25147+434%
Company retail motorcycle unit sales168+100%
Total LiveWire motorcycle unit sales (the 386%)26755+385.5%
Independent Retail Partners, retail277100+177%
Total retail motorcycle unit sales (consumer demand)293108+171.3%

The 386% is 94% wholesale: bikes shipped to dealers, an invoice, not a customer. The number the company itself calls the measure of demand grew 171%. Anyone who has worked a month-end close at an OEM knows the difference between those two numbers, and knows which one goes in the post.

To be fair on the point that matters: retail beat wholesale in the quarter (293 vs 267) and the half (412 vs 358). Dealer stock went down. This was not channel stuffing; the demand is real at its scale. But 386% and 171% are different claims about different things, and only one is about riders.

One day, two filings

The 386% quarter went out on 23 July 2026, 8-K, Item 2.02. That was the good news. The bad news arrived the same afternoon, by letter.

Same day, the New York Stock Exchange told LiveWire it was out of compliance with Section 802.01C: thirty straight trading days under $1.00. That letter was disclosed six days later, in a separate 8-K under Item 3.01.

DocumentedThe sequence, in the company's own filings

23 July: Q2 earnings release: unit sales up 386%. Same day: NYSE non-compliance notice received.
29 July: the delisting notice is disclosed by 8-K.
31 July: month end, and the first date on which the Exchange’s cure test can be applied. The stock closes at $1.81.
4 August: the board doubles executive severance and carves an H-D acquisition of 100% of the stock out of the definition of “change in control.”
5 August: the 10-Q is filed.

The stock roughly doubled on the earnings and kept going: a $0.77 close on release day to an intraday $3.57 on 27 July, on 75.6 million shares against a normal day under 200,000.

The cure test under 802.01C is a month-end close and thirty-day average both at or above $1.00. At the 31 July close of $1.81 the stock appears to have cleared it, nine days after the letter. The 386% headline is, quite literally, what got the company off the delisting track.

What is not filed: no announced return to compliance, and the 5 August 10-Q doesn’t mention the letter. The cure reading is mine, from the Exchange’s published standard and the market closes. On the filings alone, the cure period runs to 23 January 2027.

So what · §01
The point386% is a wholesale number off a 55-unit base. The company’s own demand measure grew 171%. The 76% share figure has no published denominator and cannot be checked.
Back to the thesisBoth headline numbers are real and both flatter. Behind them is a business doing 923 bikes a year against a plan of 100,000.
OutlookThe same-day NYSE letter tells you what the 386% was for. It bought a cure and a selling window. It did not buy volume.
Registered readers continue here

12 more sections behind one form.

Name and email, once, and this browser is through for a year: the rest of the brief, every figure linked to its filing, the source index, and the whole thing as a PDF. The open items and the corrections log stay public; that is the method.

02 · The plan of record  ·  03 · Revenue  ·  04 · The product ladder  ·  05 · Precedent  ·  06 · Unit economics  ·  07 · The next product, and the paperwork behind it  ·  08 · The clock  ·  09 · Analysis, not reporting  ·  10 · The tape  ·  11 · The scorecard  ·  12 · Credit where it’s due  ·  13 · Sources

14 · Method & standing

Who wrote this, and how

William Weppner
Contact Patch Advisory

I’m an independent expert witness and litigation consultant. EV and powersports product liability. Contact Patch Advisory is the practice.

I spent most of my career inside the companies this brief is about. At Harley-Davidson I ran product for Touring, CVO and Trike, the lines that pay for everything else on Juneau Avenue. Before that, sales planning lead for the CRF range at Honda and planning lead on the Grom, the bike that still defines the segment LiveWire is entering. Later, product development at Super73, OEM sales at Sena, and Faction MX, which I founded and sold.

I race motocross at expert level and I ride constantly. It matters here for one reason: when this brief says what a bike costs to build, what a dealer can retail in a season, or how much a segment will absorb, those are calls I made for a living, not things I pulled from a spreadsheet.

Nobody else is doing this particular job. The analysts don’t read manufacturing agreements. The powersports people don’t read 10-Ks. I do both, and the gap between what these companies announce and what they file is where the story usually is.

Practice
Independent expert witness & litigation consultant: EV and powersports product liability
Harley-Davidson
Product Manager: Touring, CVO, Trike
Honda
Sales Planning Lead: CRF line; planning lead, Grom
Super73
Director of Product Development
Sena Technologies
Director of OEM Sales
Faction MX
Founder, sold to private equity
Also
Amphenol Nova Sensor · LID Technology · expert-level motocross racer

Left: the Low Rider on the freeway. Middle: leading a group through the canyons. Right: the day job on weekends.

Standing and independence

I hold no position in LiveWire Group, Harley-Davidson, or any company named here: long, short, or derivative. I have no engagement, adverse or friendly, with any of them.

Where a conclusion rests on my time in the industry rather than a document, I say so. Where an earlier version of this was wrong, the fix is in the log at §14, not made quietly. If something here is wrong, tell me.

Method

Primary documents first. Figures come from filed financial statements or are computed from them, and the computation is shown.

Derived figures are labelled. Per-unit economics, trailing-twelve-month revenue and breakeven volumes are arithmetic on filed numbers, identified in the captions.

Fact and opinion are separated. Sections 01–08 are sourced. Sections 09, 10 and 12 are judgment, and say so. Where an interpretation rests on my industry experience rather than a document (as with the undefined term “production”), it is marked as my reading.

Evidence status

Major findings carry one of five tags, so a reader can see at a glance what kind of claim is being made and how to attack it.

DocumentedStated in a filing, contract or transcript, and linked to it.
CalculatedArithmetic on documented numbers, with the computation shown.
InferredA conclusion supported by more than one documented fact, but stated by none of them.
Industry contextMy professional experience or established industry practice, not a document.
UnverifiedPlausible, and not independently establishable from public information.

Corrections log

Each of these was asserted in an earlier revision and corrected on reading the document. The log is published because a method is only worth what its error-handling is worth.

What was claimedWhat the document said
A U.S. segment size derived by dividing worldwide units by a U.S. retail share.Invalid on its face: worldwide numerator, U.S. denominator. Removed, and replaced with MIC 601cc+ registrations as a sourced denominator.
Average selling price of $13,655 per motorcycle.That divided total segment revenue, including parts and apparel, by motorcycle units. True ASP is $11,483.
A gross loss of $9,517 per motorcycle, presented without qualification.Roughly 87% of it was the year-over-year increase in net realisable value adjustments, not build cost at sale.
The 40% manufacturing clause had lapsed with the 2022 agreement.It is live and appears in the current 10-K. The search that missed it looked for “40%”; the filing spells it “forty percent”.
The 40% clause caps how much production can move to KYMCO.§8.4 lets either party terminate for convenience on 90 days' notice. H-D needs no trigger at all; the 40% route is slower. The clause is evidence of intent, not a cap.
Exhibit 10.2 to the 8-K of 22 May 2026 is an amended Harley-Davidson manufacturing agreement.It is the KYMCO agreement, and its Exhibit A (products, volumes, prices) is redacted under Item 601(b)(10).
Dust Moto was acquired for $375,000.$375K cash, plus $500K of stock at closing, three annual $875K stock instalments, and up to $11.25M of contingent earn-out. Up to $14.75M.
Debt-for-equity conversion is a mechanism available to Harley-Davidson.It was, under the February 2024 facility, which was never drawn. The November 2025 restatement removed the conversion feature.
NYSE compliance was regained on 3 August 2026.No filing says so. The company has announced no return to compliance and the 5 August 10-Q does not mention the notice. Restated as the author’s reading of the Exchange’s month-end cure test against the 31 July close, with the 23 January 2027 cure deadline shown as the filed position.
The ~10,000-unit Grom volume is sourced to MIC registration data.It is not a published statistic and is not reproduced from MIC. It is the author’s own estimate, formed as planning lead on the Grom program at American Honda, and is now labelled as judgment rather than as a cited figure.
The December 2027 obligation is $76.8M.Interest accrues at SOFR + 4.00% compounded semi-annually with nothing payable until maturity. The payoff is nearer $85M.
Q2 2026 purchases were driven by minimum volume commitments.The Harley minimums begin in calendar 2027. Those purchases were discretionary.
The write-down is “arithmetic proof” that the cost-plus transfer price exceeds market value.The filing establishes that carrying cost exceeded net realisable value; it does not itemise the cost. The cost-plus mechanism is now labelled as an inference from the agreement and the filing together, in §00, §04 and §06.
The 76% share figure most likely rests on MIC data in which classification is declared by the manufacturer.Not needed to make the point and not established from any filing. The section is restructured as known / not disclosed / therefore / hypothesis; the finding is that the figure cannot be reproduced from the public record, and the MIC source is labelled as industry context.
“The paperwork has already decided how it ends.”Kept as the cover line. As analysis it overstates: the documents fix constraints, obligations and incentives, not results. §09 now says so before the mechanisms are laid out. Evidence-status tags added throughout; legend in §14.
Corrections and challenges

If a figure or reading here is wrong, I want to know. Corrections get made in the document, dated, and added to the log. Not made quietly.

Contact Patch Advisory